Waiting on Wednesday #21

It’s that time again – another edition of Waiting on Wednesday! WoW is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. Here’s what I’m most looking forward to this time around:

No Good Deed by Kara Connolly

32766757

Description (from Goodreads):

Fans of Dorothy Must Die will love this reimagining of the legend of Robin Hood. Girl power rules supreme when a modern girl finds herself in the middle of a medieval mess with only her smart mouth and her Olympic-archer aim to get her home.

Ellie Hudson is the front-runner on the road to gold for the U.S. Olympic archery team. All she has to do is qualify at the trials in jolly old England. When Ellie makes some kind of crazy wrong turn in the caverns under Nottingham Castle—yes, that Nottingham—she ends up in medieval England.

Ellie doesn’t care how she got to the Middle Ages; she just wants to go home before she gets the plague. But people are suffering in Nottingham, and Ellie has the skills to make it better. What’s an ace archer to do while she’s stuck in Sherwood Forest but make like Robin Hood?

Pulled into a past life as an outlaw, Ellie feels her present fading away next to daring do-gooding and a devilishly handsome knight. Only, Ellie is on the brink of rewriting history, and when she picks up her bow and arrow, her next shot could save her past—or doom civilization’s future.

Release Date: July 18, 2017

Why I’m Waiting: This one’s got it all: time travel, Olympic level athletics and the legend of Robin Hood with a gender-bending twist. I’m really excited for this! I’m also hearing the song “No Good Deed” from Wicked in my head. Anyone else? Just me? Okay.

What do you think, book lovers? What’s on your wishlist this Waiting on Wednesday?

Waiting on Wednesday #20

Hello book lovers! Welcome back to Waiting on Wednesday – a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. This week’s most anticipated release is…

Waste of Space by Gina Damico

28473381

Description (from Goodreads):

Cram ten hormonal teens into a spaceship and blast off: that’s the premise for the ill-conceived reality show Waste of Space. The kids who are cast know everything about drama—and nothing about the fact that the production is fake. Hidden in a desert warehouse, their spaceship replica is equipped with state-of-the-art special effects dreamed up by the scientists partnering with the shady cable network airing the show. And it’s a hit! Millions of viewers are transfixed. But then, suddenly, all communication is severed. Trapped and paranoid, the kids must figure out what to do when this reality show loses its grip on reality.

Release Date: July 12, 2017

Why I’m Waiting: Strangely enough, this book almost sounds like The 100 in reverse: instead of sending a bunch of moody kids down to Earth, let’s send them into space! But of course it all goes wrong, leading to grand adventure and/or the possibility of freezing in the vacuum of space. Bring it on!

Back at you, book lovers: what are you looking forward to reading this Wednesday?

Waiting on Wednesday #19

Welcome back to Waiting on Wednesday – a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. Here is my most anticipated release for the week:

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

29283884

Description (from Goodreads):

An unforgettable tale of two friends on their Grand Tour of 18th-century Europe who stumble upon a magical artifact that leads them from Paris to Venice in a dangerous manhunt, fighting pirates, highwaymen, and their feelings for each other along the way.

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Witty, romantic, and intriguing at every turn, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a sumptuous romp that explores the undeniably fine lines between friendship and love.

Release Date: June 20, 2017

Why I’m Waiting: oh, this sounds like a lot of fun! Road trip hijinks, best friends who fall in love and all the other things that happen along the way. Bring it on!

What about you, book lovers – what new release are you waiting for this Wednesday?

Waiting on Wednesday #18

Welcome back to Waiting on Wednesday – a weekly meme hosted on Breaking the Spine. This week, I’m anticipating the release of:

Internet Famous by Danika Stone

31145123

Description (from Goodreads):

High school senior and internet sensation Madison Nakama seems to have it all: a happy family, good grades, and a massive online following for her pop-culture blog. But when her mother suddenly abandons the family, Madi finds herself struggling to keep up with all of her commitments.

Fandom to the rescue! As her online fans band together to help, an online/offline flirtation sparks with Laurent, a French exchange student. Their internet romance—played out in the comments section of her MadLibs blog—attracts the attention of an internet troll who threatens the separation of Madi’s real and online personas. With her carefully constructed life unraveling, Madi must uncover the hacker’s identity before he can do any more damage, or risk losing the people she loves the most… Laurent included.

Release Date: June 6, 2017

Why I’m Waiting: I thoroughly enjoyed Danika Stone’s last foray into the world of fandom with last year’s All the Feels so when I heard she was coming out with a new book, it had to go on the list. Hopefully this one is as good as All the Feels.

What do you think, book lovers – what are you looking forward to reading this week?

Upcoming Releases: May 2017

May is shaping up to be a very busy month for new book releases! What are you looking forward to? Leave me a comment and we can chat! Here’s what’s on my radar for May:

May 2:

Flame in the Mist – Renee Ahdieh

Noteworthy – Riley Redgate

Textrovert – Lindsey Summers

Seeking Mansfield – Kate Watson

May 4:

The Seafarer’s Kiss – Julia Ember

May 9:

It’s Not Like It’s A Secret – Misa Sugiura

May 16:

The Best Kind of Magic – Crystal Cestari

May 30:

Romancing the Throne – Nadine Jolie Courtney

Dark Breaks the Dawn – Sara B. Larson

One of Us is Lying – Karen M. McManus

When Dimple Met Rishi – Sandhya Menon

Eliza and her Monsters – Francesca Zappia

 

Comics roundup: Moon Girl and Papergirls

Paper Girls, Vol. 1 Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur, Vol. 1: BFF

I’ve been having some mixed results with the last few comic books I’ve picked up. Paper Girls is one of those raved-about very popular comics that everyone seems to love while I hadn’t heard much about Moon Girl before I picked it up at the library. But as fate would have it, I ended up enjoying Lunella Lafayette’s adventures very much. Paper Girls on the other hand I did not connect with on the same level. Sometimes that’s just the way it happens. Even though it’s got a lot of qualities I like (awesome female friendships! Time travel! Conspiracy stuff!) I just wasn’t into it. I feel like I’m missing something because I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.

But Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur was absolutely delightful. Lunella is a child genius with the inhuman gene, fighting against the inevitable: at some point, her inhuman powers are going to be activated and she’ll turn into something else. But Lunella is determined to forge her own path in the world – and her trusty dinosaur buddy comes along for the ride!

I’m always on the lookout for more comics to read, but I think I’m going to focus on actual books for a while until something really spectacular comes along.

Over to you, my fellow booklovers: have you read either of these comics? What did you think?

Waiting on Wednesday #17

Welcome back to another edition of Waiting on Wednesday! WoW is a weekly meme that started with Breaking the Spine. Here’s what I’m waiting on this week:

Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau

32051572

Description (from Goodreads):

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure.

But appearances—and rivals—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.

As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom’s wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.

With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?

Release Date: June 6, 2017

Why I’m Waiting: I’m such a sucker for rivals struggling over the throne and this one should be especially exciting since the rivals are brother and sister. This promises lots of secrets and betrayal and courtly intrigue – sign me up!

Back to you, book lovers: what book are you waiting on this Wednesday?