Comics roundup: Moon Girl and Papergirls

Paper Girls, Vol. 1 Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur, Vol. 1: BFF

I’ve been having some mixed results with the last few comic books I’ve picked up. Paper Girls is one of those raved-about very popular comics that everyone seems to love while I hadn’t heard much about Moon Girl before I picked it up at the library. But as fate would have it, I ended up enjoying Lunella Lafayette’s adventures very much. Paper Girls on the other hand I did not connect with on the same level. Sometimes that’s just the way it happens. Even though it’s got a lot of qualities I like (awesome female friendships! Time travel! Conspiracy stuff!) I just wasn’t into it. I feel like I’m missing something because I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.

But Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur was absolutely delightful. Lunella is a child genius with the inhuman gene, fighting against the inevitable: at some point, her inhuman powers are going to be activated and she’ll turn into something else. But Lunella is determined to forge her own path in the world – and her trusty dinosaur buddy comes along for the ride!

I’m always on the lookout for more comics to read, but I think I’m going to focus on actual books for a while until something really spectacular comes along.

Over to you, my fellow booklovers: have you read either of these comics? What did you think?

Author: Bex

Aspiring writer and life-long bookworm.

Leave a Reply

