Mini reviews: DC Bombshells

DC Comics: Bombshells, Vol. 1: EnlistedDC Comics: Bombshells, Vol. 2: Allies

I still consider myself a newbie with comics, as I’ve only been reading them for about a year and a half. In that time, I’ve managed to shamelessly neglect DC Comics so I decided to remedy that by reading these babies. DC Bombshells is a separate continuity from the rest of the DC-universe, so you don’t need much background on the characters or the plots to jump in. Bombshells re-imagines some of the most famous DC comics heroines as WWII-era pinups fighting on the front lines of the war. Wonder Woman is a major player, and we also see Supergirl, Stargirl, Harley Quinn, Batwoman, Maggie Sawyer, Catwoman, Poison Ivy, Amanda Waller and several others. My knowledge of DC comics lore comes mostly from the successful TV shows in the Arrowverse: Arrow, The Flash, Legends of Tomorrow and Supergirl, so I was quite pleased to see a cameo by a young Felicity Smoak, my favourite character on Arrow, in volume 2. The art style commits to the pinup aesthetic, so if you’re looking for realistic body types, this isn’t exactly the place (not that comics are really know for that to begin with.) But seeing these amazing women working together to win the war more than makes up for that. All of this is making me so excited for the release of the Wonder Woman movie!

Over to you, booklovers: have you read DC Bombshells or any other DC comics? I’m always looking for recommendations. 🙂

Author: Bex

Aspiring writer and life-long bookworm.

2 thoughts on “Mini reviews: DC Bombshells”

    1. It was pretty fun, though I did get an attack of the FEELS in volume 2. I think everyone should read at least one comic at some point in their lives. Ms. Marvel is a good one 🙂

Leave a Reply

