Reading Goals for 2017

Because it’s good to have goals, or so they tell me. These are the reading goals I’ve set for myself this year:

  1. Read at least 50 books. This should be doable. My goal last year was 45 and I ended up doing 56. But that was counting comic book volumes, so maybe we won’t count those this time.
  2. Continue reading more diverse books. Specifically more books with POC and LGBT protagonists. I started doing this last year and it made for a richer overall reading experience. I’m biracial myself so I’m always on the lookout for stories about people like me.
  3. Read more contemporary books. I’ve kind of been ignoring contemporary as a genre until I came across some contemporary books that I loved in the final months of 2017. Maybe I haven’t been giving this genre a fair shake.
  4. Continue prioritizing books by female authors. Because women’s stories are important.
  5. Be pickier about my reading choices. It’s easy to get caught up in the cycle of hype and reviews but sometimes you have to trust your instincts.
  6. Be more vigilant about problematic aspects. Such as cultural appropriation, sexism, etc. It’s 2017. Time to aim a little higher.
  7. Try to actually keep up with the blog this time! We’ll see how that goes.

What about you, friends: have you set any reading goals or challenges for yourself this year? Tell me all about it! I’d love to hear from you. 🙂

 

Author: Bex

Aspiring writer and life-long bookworm.

Leave a Reply

