Angelic Encore

Today’s order of business: book review, latest purchases and weekly playlist.

Review: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand.

Hallowed is the sequel to Unearthly, which I reviewed awhile backHallowed is a successful sequel (no sophomore slump here) that picks up where the previous entry left off and sets the scene for what’s to come in book three (due out next year.) It’s hard to review this one without giving away the plot of the first book, but I’ll just say this: if you liked Unearthly, you’ll like Hallowed too. There were some great moments that I did not see coming at all.

Tiny nitpick: I’m still not sure which boy Clara should end up with. What I’m looking forward to finding out more about in book three: Angela! What is her deal? I’m sure there’s more to her than meets the eye. And I’d like to learn more about Sam. And Clara’s dad! And her brother! Man, it’s hard not to give the whole plot away here. But it’s a worthy follow-up, that much I can vouch for.

Final grade: A-

I went to the bookstore yesterday but I only bought two:

Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

See? I’m slowly learning restraint when it comes to book buying! Though I did buy Keith Oppel’s This Dark Endeavor last week too, so maybe I’m just learning to spread the buying out a little more…

And finally, the weekly playlist. This week’s playlist doesn’t have a theme, it’s just stuff I’ve been listening to lately.

Weekly Playlist #6: Hollywood Infected Your Brain

1. “Silence” – Lucia

2. “Teen Idle” – Marina & The Diamonds

3. “Brutal Hearts” – Bedouin Soundclash featuring Coeur De Pirate

4. “Only The Horses” – Scissor Sisters

5. “Little Talks” – Of Monsters and Men

6. “Been Better” – Kyla La Grange

7. “Sweet Nothing” – Calvin Harris featuring Florence Welch

8. “She’s Not Me” – Lana Del Ray

9. “Hollywood” – Marina & The Diamonds

10. “Let’s Have a Kiki” – Scissor Sisters

Author: Bex

Aspiring writer and life-long bookworm.

Leave a Reply

