Wallflowers and wizards

Another book review today! I’m on a roll.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky

Another quick read – this isn’t a big book. There’s already been a lot said about this highly successful novel so I won’t re-hash what’s been written already, except to say that I really appreciate books written in the epistolary form. You don’t see that so much anymore and it was done very well here.  For a book where not a lot happens (at least not directly) it still manages to stay interesting. It wasn’t the most mind-blowing thing I’ve ever read, but I would definitely recommend it.

Though on an entirely superficial level, I keep getting distracted by the trailers for the movie. I keep thinking, Why is Percy Jackson trying to get with Hermione Granger, even though I know perfectly well that they’re both just actors and not those other characters. I know that. And yet I can’t unsee it. Maybe I’m just depressed because I know there will be no more Harry Potter movies, but at least we’re getting another Percy movie and Annabeth is blonde this time and Anthony Head is playing Chiron instead of Pierce Brosnan (Giles Pendragon!) I’m still looking forward to seeing the movie adaptation of Perks though. Emma and Logan are both great actors and I’m sure they’ll pull it off beautifully. But still! Percy and Hermione… it’s like the best crossover EVER.

Final grade: B+

Author: Bex

Aspiring writer and life-long bookworm.

Leave a Reply

