Chair makes the world go ’round

It’s been a good long weekend for TV.

First, this past Saturday, it was the Merlin series five premiere and the show is back with a bang: a bang that includes a new Mordred and the reign of QUEEN GWEN – a character who is finally living up to her full, very regal potential. But of course everyone still treats poor Merlin like crap. It can’t be easy being the unsung hero. But this premiere episode sets up what I can only hope will be some juicy storylines for the rest of the season…

Speaking of juicy storylines, we got some interesting backstory on the relationship between Regina and Rumple on this week’s Once Upon a Time. I loved that thing Regina said about needing to learn magic even if it turned her green (foreshadowing?! Let’s hope so!) and Rumple was as creepy/excellent as always. And Charming’s back in action! I can’t wait to see what happens next week when they bring in Lancelot. I’ve always liked him a lot.

Then last night was the sixth season Gossip Girl premiere – a show that I only watch because I love Chuck and Blair. And it looks like they’re finally gonna make it happen, so it’ll be worth the wait. But in the meantime we’ll be forced to put up with the icky subplot of Rufus and Ivy (WTF?!) and whatever shenanigans Serena gets up to before we see Chair ride off into the sunset together. But Georgina’s hanging around and that’s always fun. And Blair wore a very becoming chapeau, which was tres jolie.

And now without further ado, here is this week’s playlist:

Weekly Playlist #3: Chair, time travel and the land of what might have been

1. “The Time Warp” – Rocky Horror Picture Show soundtrack

I also saw Looper this weekend, so in honour of Joseph Gordon Levitt growing up to be Bruce Willis, I’m including the first song that popped into my head about TIME. And because doing the time warp is just plain FUN and you sholdn’t need an excuse to do it. After all, it’s just a jump to the left…

2. “Tonight” – Fun featuring Janelle Monae

So this song is old news now but it was used very effectively in last season’s Gossip Girl finale. I will forever associate this song with Chuck Bass and Blair Waldorf. Someday these two are gonna set the world on fire.

3. “I’m Not That Girl” – Wicked soundtrack

Because everyone can relate to being not that girl or not that boy at some point in their lives. *sniffle*

4. “Skyfall” – Adele

After the rather underwhelming “Another Way to Die” from Quantum of Solace, this new Bond theme is everything I was hoping for. I’m so excited for this movie! The trailers look amazing and I can’t wait to see what Mr. Bond has got up his sleeve this time around. And there’s a new Q!

5. “A Girl Worth Fighting For” – Mulan soundtrack

Still enjoying the Mulan character on Once. She’s so badass! How ’bout a girl who’s got a brain who always speaks her mind?

6. “What Have You Done?” – Within Temptation featuring Keith Caputo

Even despite everything that’s happened, I still ship Merlin/Morgana. This song pretty much sums up how I feel about the two of them. I feel like they could have had something, but destiny got in the way. Why does fate make us suffer?

7. “White Rabbit” – Jefferson Airplane

This one is dedicated to Jefferson: one of my favourite characters on Once. Did you catch that rabbit stuffed animal he had in his car? So cute and so heartbreaking. Off with his head!

8. “Un Amor” –  Gipsy Kings

Because I’m in love with Hubbell/Donohue’s new flamenco/Gipsy Kings free dance.

9. “Je Suis Malade” – Lara Fabian

And since we’re on the topic of free dances, my heart still belongs to Weaver/Poje’s “Je Suis Malade” from last season (though this season’s is going to be epic!)

10. “Alejandro” – Lady Gaga

I’ve had this stuck in my head again lately.

 

Author: Bex

Aspiring writer and life-long bookworm.

Leave a Reply

