Dancing through life, skimming the surface

It’s Monday and we all know what that means: time for this week’s playlist!

Weekly Playlist #2:

1. “Dancing Through Life” – Wicked soundtrack

Clearly my obession with Wicked has not died down yet, nor do I expect it to any time soon. So take Fiyero’s advice and “learn to live the unexamined life.”

2. “Swanheart” – Nightwish

Who else thinks this would make great ice dance music? Seriously: if any dance team in the world does a free dance to Nightwish, I’ll be happy forever.

3. “Hey Big Spender” – Sweet Charity soundtrack

Has anyone been watching Over the Rainbow? They had the girls singing show tunes this week and this was one of them.

4. “Surrounded” – The Man in the Iron Mask soundtrack

Speaking of skating, does anyone remember Alexei Yagudin’s Olympic gold medal winning program to the Man in the Iron Mask soundtrack? It’s been ten years and it’s still one of the best free programs of all time.

5. “Rabbit Heart (Raise it Up)” – Florence + the Machine

This song makes be think of Once Upon a Time, which is appropriate, since the season premiere was last night. And what an episode it was! Season two is starting off with a bang, make no mistake.

6. “I’ll Make a Man Out of You” – Mulan soundtrack

Let’s get down to business: Mulan is now a character on Once Upon a Time and she’s already my new favourite. I hope we’ll be seeing more of her this season! In her honour I had to include a song from Mulan on  this week’s playlist.

7. “Our Farewell” – Within Temptation

Since we’re on the subject of television, Saturday’s mid-season finale of Doctor Who was a heart-wrencher. I don’t want to spoil it but OMG, it was so sad. So I thought a sad but beautiful song was appropriate here.

8. “When I’m Small” – Phantogram

I discovered this song about a year ago and I listened to it nonstop at the time, then I forgot about it for several months and now I can’t stop listening to it again. It’s got such a cool groove and catchy beat, you can’t help but sing/dance along.

9. “Popular” – Wicked soundtrack

This song is the definition of catchy. I dare you not to sing along. Just try it. It’s impossible. I know clandestinely you want to sing with Galinda. You’re gonna grin and bear it!

 

Author: Bex

Aspiring writer and life-long bookworm.

Leave a Reply

