Jaywalker with headphones

So I had my afternoon off yesterday and I was cruising down one of the busiest streets in town (which isn’t so busy at 2:40 in the afternoon, actually) when I see some guy cut across the street halfway between two intersections: one of those jaywalkers. I kind of shake my head because I’m thinking, ‘what, you can’t walk a few more metres and cross at the light like all normal people?’ but then I notice he’s listening to music. It’s a good thing the street wasn’t very busy at that time of day, because if it hadn’t been, that guy would’ve gotten smoked. And he couldn’t have heard it coming because of his headphones! Sheesh.

So I keep driving, minding my own business, because I’m listening to music too: I’m just listening to it in the car with the volume up, like I always do. I turn the corner and what do I see? Another jaywalker with headphones. These folks are really taking their lives into their hands.

And yet, I get it: I know what it’s like to get caught up in whatever you’re listening to. To be fair, I was driving around listening to one of my Nightwish albums, and we all know what an intense listening experience that can be. So in honour of getting lost in the music, I’ve decided to start a weekly playlist feature on this blog. I’ll post whatever songs I happen to be listening to in and talk about why I like them.

So the inagural Weekly Playlist for this, the last week of September, 2012:

1. “What Is This Feeling” – Wicked soundtrack

2. “April Rain” – Delain

3. “Nemo” – Nightwish

4. “Shot in the Dark” – Within Temptation

5. “Wicked Game” – HIM

6. “Seven Devils” – Florence + the Machine

7. “Breathing Underwater” – Metric

8. “Big Bright World” – Garbage

9. “Settle Down” – No Doubt

10. “The Wizard and I” – Wicked Soundtrack

Okay, so I couldn’t resist putting two songs from Wicked on there. I just really like Wicked. My inclusion of Delain, WT and Nightwish can be summed up simply by the fact that I love symphonic metal. As for Florence… we all know everything is more epic if you include Florence + the Machine somewhere. And No Doubt and Garbage are two of my all-time favourites who just released new music so yay! And a cover is always good, that’s why HIM is on there. This one goes out to the jaywalkers with headphones everywhere!

Author: Bex

Aspiring writer and life-long bookworm.

Leave a Reply

