What I’ve been up to lately + another review

So here’s what I’ve been up to.

I finished re-watching the first season of ABC’s Once Upon a Time. If you haven’t checked this show out yet, then drop what you’re doing and go watch it now. Like, right now: this instant. And then when you’re done you should check out Downton Abbey. I’m only two episodes into that one but I’m already obsessed. And since we’re talking about TV, how about last week’s Doctor Who? This show has really been amazing this year. I think this is my favourite season with Matt Smith as the Doctor. And don’t get me started on last week’s episode of Sinbad either: the ending!! Looks like our boy Sinbad is about to get more than he bargained for…

I also saw the musical Wicked a few weeks ago and all I can say is WOW. I only hope the eventual movie will do it justice because this is such a great show. It’s officially my favourite musical now. Phantom of the Opera can just move over, ok? I’m over it. Move along, mask boy. *toss, toss*

I’ve also been reading of course. I read a couple of things I wasn’t crazy about, so I won’t be reviewing them. But I will however highly recommend the latest from Lesley Livingston: Starling. If you wondered what became of Fennrys after the end of the Wondrous Strange trilogy, then wonder no more! Fenn is back and this time he’s paired up with a girl who’s very cool in her own right: a fencer named Mason Starling. Mythology geeks will love this one because it’s got more references to Norse, Greek and other myths than you can shake a stick at, plus the promise of more. It ends on a hell of a cliffhanger though (thanks a lot!) that’ll keep you OMGing until the next one comes out. Livingston has definitely done a bang-up job here and while Once Every Never is still my favourite of hers, Starling definitely holds its own. I even liked it better than Wondrous Strange, which I didn’t expect to, but hey. The fencing won me over.

Final Grade: A

I’m taking a break from YA now and reading some Agatha Christie. Fall seems to be a good time to read a murder mystery.

Author: Bex

Aspiring writer and life-long bookworm.

Leave a Reply

